Mercedes-Benz VIN decoder
Sprinter 2500, Sprinter 3500 and C300 lead 472 Mercedes-Benz recall campaigns since 2016; 1 investigation is open.
The answer
Type a VIN and press Decode.
Working it out…
How to read a Mercedes-Benz VIN
- On the 2016 S-Class sedan, the manual shows the VIN under a fold-down cover by the front right-hand door, as well as at the lower edge of the windshield. The vehicle identification plate is on the driver's-side B-pillar; on Canadian cars that plate also shows the paint code. Other models may differ. Source
- In its 2027 filing, Mercedes-Benz uses positions 4 to 7 as a four-character model-type code and position 8 as a restraint-system letter. In its own example VIN W1KFJ1DB1VJ000000 (2027 CLA 250+), FJ1D is the model type, B the restraint system and J the plant. Source
- Mercedes' NHTSA filing maps each four-character code to a six-digit internal model number called the 'Baumuster'. For example, LF4G is the E350 sedan, Baumuster 214046. Source
- In Mercedes-Benz's 2027 filing, for WMIs such as W1K (cars) and W1N (SUVs), plant codes include A, B, C, D or U = Sindelfingen, F, G or H = Bremen, J or K = Rastatt and N or P = Kecskemet, Hungary. Source
- In the same 2027 filing, US-built Mercedes SUVs use WMI 4JG or 55S. Plant codes A, B or U mean Vance, Alabama. Source
Mercedes-Benz WMIs and plants
Argentina, Brazil, Germany and United States: 8 SUVs, vans and crossovers, 7 cars, 5 trucks, 4 buses and 3 incomplete chassis, per vPIC October 2026.
| WMIs | Registered to | Country · covers |
|---|---|---|
| 1MB | MERCEDES-BENZ TRUCK COMPANY INC | United States · trucks |
| 4JG | MERCEDES-BENZ OF NORTH AMERICA, INC. | United States · SUVs, vans and crossovers |
| 55S | Mercedes-Benz Cars | United States · cars |
| 8BN | MERCEDES-BENZ USA, LLC (SPRINTER) | Argentina · incomplete chassis |
| 8BR | MERCEDES-BENZ USA, LLC (SPRINTER) | Argentina · buses |
| 8BT | MERCEDES-BENZ USA, LLC (SPRINTER) | Argentina · SUVs, vans and crossovers |
| 8BU | MERCEDES-BENZ USA, LLC (SPRINTER) | Argentina · trucks |
| 9DB | MERCEDES-BENZ TRUCK COMPANY INC | Brazil · trucks |
| W1A, W1L, W1M | MERCEDES-BENZ, AG | not stated · cars |
| W1K, WDD | Mercedes-Benz Cars | Germany · cars |
| W1N, W1W | MERCEDES-BENZ, AG | Germany · SUVs, vans and crossovers |
| W1P, W1R | MERCEDES-BENZ, AG | not stated · SUVs, vans and crossovers |
| W1X, WDA | MERCEDES-BENZ, AG | Germany · incomplete chassis |
| W1Y, WD3 | MERCEDES-BENZ, AG | Germany · trucks |
| W1Z | MERCEDES-BENZ, AG | Germany · buses |
| WDC | Mercedes-Benz Cars | Germany · SUVs, vans and crossovers |
| WDZ | MERCEDES-BENZ USA, LLC (SPRINTER) | Germany · buses |
Codes Mercedes-Benz shares with EVOBUS, Freightliner and Maybach: WD4, WDB, WEB.
Mercedes-Benz recalls
632 campaigns on file; 472 since 2016, naming about 10.2 million vehicles (summed across campaigns), 11 with a do-not-drive or park-outside advisory. The Sprinter 2500 has the most, 87. Electrical system (94), Air bags (59), Structure (48), Steering (34), Power train (31) and Exterior lighting (29). One car: NHTSA or Mercedes-Benz.
| Model | Campaigns |
|---|---|
| Sprinter 2500 | 87 |
| Sprinter 3500 | 84 |
| C300 | 58 |
| Sprinter 1500 | 55 |
| Glc 300 | 54 |
| Sprinter 4500 | 54 |
| Gle 350 | 53 |
| Gle 450 | 51 |
| E350 | 38 |
| E 450 | 35 |
| GLS450 | 32 |
| AMG C43 | 31 |
| Filed | Models | Component |
|---|---|---|
| October 2026 | 2027 Cla 220 | Seat belts › Front |
| October 2026 | 2024–2025 AMG S 63 E 4MATIC+; 2022–2025 S 500 4MATIC; 2022–2025 S 580 4MATIC; 2023–2025 S 580 E 4MATIC | Service brakes, hydraulic › Foundation components |
| July 2026 | 2019–2022 A 220; 2019–2022 A 220 4MATIC; 2020–2021 AMG A35; 2023 AMG C43 4MATIC | Latches/locks/linkages › Doors › Lock |
| May 2026 | 2026 AMG GLE53 4MATIC+; 2026 AMG GLE53 4MATIC+ Coupe; 2026 AMG GLE63 S 4MATIC+; 2026 AMG GLE63 S 4MATIC+ Coupe | Seat belts › Rear/other › Buckle assembly |
| May 2026 | 2026 Cla 250+ (ev); 2026 Cla 350 4MATIC (ev) | Seat belts › Front › Retractor |
| May 2026 | 2025–2026 AMG C43 4MATIC; 2025 AMG C63 S E 4MATIC+; 2026 AMG C63 S E Performance 4MATIC+; 2025–2026 AMG CLE53 4MATIC Cabriolet | Electrical system › Instrument cluster/panel |
| April 2026 | 2018 E 400 4MATIC; 2018 E 400 4MATIC Cabriolet; 2018 E 400 4MATIC Coupe; 2018 E 400 4MATIC Wagon | Power train › Driveline › Universal joint |
| March 2026 | 2025 G 580 EV | Wheels › Lugs/nuts/bolts/studs |
| March 2026 | 2026 AMG GLE53 4MATIC+; 2026 AMG GLE63 S 4MATIC+; 2026 AMG GLS63 4MATIC+; 2025 Gle 350 | Air bags › Passenger side frontal › Cushion |
| March 2026 | 2026 AMG GLC43 4MATIC; 2026 Glc 300; 2026 Glc 300 4MATIC; 2026 Glc 300 4MATIC Coupe | Seat belts › Rear/other |
| March 2026 | 2026 Gla 250 | Latches/locks/linkages › Doors › LATCH |
| February 2026 | 2025 Esprinter | Back over prevention › Warnings › External/pedestrian alert |
| Filed | Advisory | Models | Component |
|---|---|---|---|
| February 2026 | Park outside | 2023–2024 Eqb 250+; 2022–2024 Eqb 300 4MATIC; 2022–2024 Eqb 350 4MATIC | Electrical system › Propulsion system › Traction battery |
| December 2025 | Park outside | 2023 Eqb 250+; 2022–2023 Eqb 300 4MATIC; 2022–2023 Eqb 350 4MATIC | Electrical system › Propulsion system › Traction battery |
| July 2025 | Park outside | 2022–2023 Eqb 300 4MATIC; 2022–2023 Eqb 350 4MATIC | Electrical system › Propulsion system › Traction battery |
| February 2025 | Park outside | 2022–2025 Eqb 250+; 2022–2024 Eqb 300 4MATIC; 2022–2024 Eqb 350 4MATIC | Electrical system › Propulsion system › Traction battery |
| December 2024 | Do not drive | 2025 E 350 4MATIC; 2025 E 450 4MATIC; 2025 E 450 4MATIC All-terrain; 2025 E350 | Power train › Axle assembly |
| April 2024 | Do not drive | 2007–2011 AMG ML63; 2007 AMG R63; 2007–2009 GL320; 2009–2012 GL350 | Service brakes, hydraulic › Power assist › Vacuum |
| December 2023 | Do not drive | 2022–2023 AMG G63 | Power train › Driveline › Differential unit |
| December 2022 | Do not drive | 2022 AMG G63 | Power train › Axle assembly |
Open Mercedes-Benz investigations (1)
| Opened | Subject | Models |
|---|---|---|
| September 2021 | Desiccated Air Bag Inflator Rupture (EA21002) | 2017–2018 AMG C43; 2017–2018 AMG C63; 2017–2018 AMG C63 S; 2014–2018 AMG CLA45 |
Mercedes-Benz owner complaints
Air bags, Engine, Electrical system and Unknown or other lead for 2010-on model-years; the 2011 C300 drew the most, 480 (unverified owner reports).
| Model-year | Complaints | Crashes | Fires | Leading component |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 C300 | 480 | 15 | 6 | Air bags |
| 2010 C300 | 453 | 17 | 5 | Air bags |
| 2015 C300 | 381 | 9 | 1 | Engine |
| 2016 C300 | 288 | 7 | 5 | Engine |
| 2013 C250 | 278 | 14 | 5 | Air bags |
| 2014 E350 | 278 | 10 | 14 | Air bags |
| 2012 C250 | 272 | 3 | 2 | Air bags |
| 2012 C300 | 266 | 5 | 4 | Air bags |
| 2013 C300 | 261 | 9 | 2 | Air bags |
| 2010 GLK350 | 241 | 12 | 2 | Air bags |
| 2011 E350 | 223 | 9 | 2 | Air bags |
| 2012 E350 | 217 | 6 | 1 | Air bags |
Check any Mercedes-Benz model-year for recalls
Any make: recalls by VIN.
Data: vPIC October 2026; NHTSA, October 17, 2026. Not affiliated with Mercedes-Benz.