Honda VIN decoder

Pilot, Odyssey and CR-V lead 177 Honda recall campaigns since 2016 (cars and motorcycles); 7 investigations are open.

Honda

Decode a Honda VIN

36 Honda WMIs on file in vPIC. Decoded in this tab; never sent.

Seventeen characters; I, O and Q never appear.

The answer

Type a VIN and press Decode.

How to read a Honda VIN

  • Honda's 2003 CR-V owner's manual says the VIN is also stamped on the engine compartment bulkhead. The door-jamb certification label repeats it as a bar code. Newer models may differ. Source
  • Honda's NHTSA filings call positions 4 to 8 a five-character 'model code'. Each code is listed with model, trim, drive, transmission, body type, GVWR class, restraint system and engine model; for example, FL2H8 is the 2027 Civic Hatchback Sport and FL2H9 the Sport L. Source
  • In the 2027 CR-V filing, the third character of the model code separates drivetrain (RS3 = 2WD, RS4 = 4WD). The last character separates trim (RS3H2 LX, RS3H4 EX, RS3H7 EX-L). Source
  • One Honda model can come from several plants. The 2027 CR-V is listed with WMI 5J6 and plant L (East Liberty, Ohio), 7FA and plant E (Greensburg, Indiana), and 2HK and plant H (Alliston, Ontario). Source
  • The 2027 Odyssey and Passport use WMI 5FN with plant code B, Lincoln, Alabama. Source

Honda WMIs and plants

Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States and Vietnam: 14 motorcycles, 11 SUVs, vans and crossovers, 7 cars and 4 trucks, per vPIC October 2026.

Honda-only WMIs
WMIsRegistered toCountry · covers
19X, 1HG, 5KBAMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC.United States · cars
1HF, 478AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC.United States · motorcycles
2HGHONDA OF CANADA MFG., A DIVISION OF HONDA CANADA INC.Canada · cars
2HJHONDA OF CANADA MFG., A DIVISION OF HONDA CANADA INC.Canada · trucks
2HKHONDA OF CANADA MFG., A DIVISION OF HONDA CANADA INC.Canada · SUVs, vans and crossovers
3CZ, 3DHHONDA DE MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V.Mexico · SUVs, vans and crossovers
3GPGENERAL MOTORS LLCMexico · SUVs, vans and crossovers
3H1HONDA DE MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V.Mexico · motorcycles
3HGHONDA DE MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V.Mexico · cars
4S6ISUZU MANUFACTURING SERVICES OF AMERICA, INC.United States · SUVs, vans and crossovers
5FN, 5J6, 7FAAMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC.United States · SUVs, vans and crossovers
5FP, 5J7AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC.United States · trucks
9C2Moto Honda da Amazonia Ltda.Brazil · motorcycles
JH1HONDA MOTOR CO., LTD.not stated · trucks
JH2, JH3HONDA MOTOR CO., LTD.Japan · motorcycles
JHLHONDA MOTOR CO., LTD.not stated · SUVs, vans and crossovers
JHMHONDA MOTOR CO., LTD.not stated · cars
LWBAMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC.China · motorcycles
MLHTHAI HONDA CO., LTD.Thailand · motorcycles
RLHHonda Vietnam Co., Ltd.Vietnam · motorcycles
SHHHONDA OF THE U.K. MFG., LTD.United Kingdom · cars
SHSHONDA OF THE U.K. MFG., LTD.United Kingdom · SUVs, vans and crossovers
VTD, VTMMONTESA HONDA SASpain · motorcycles
YC1AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC.Belgium · motorcycles
ZDCAMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC.Italy · motorcycles

Codes Honda shares with Acura and Sundiro Honda Motorcycle Co. Ltd: 3HD, LAL.

Honda recalls

424 campaigns on file; 177 since 2016, naming about 39.9 million vehicles (summed across campaigns). The Pilot has the most, 42. Air bags (32), Electrical system (24), Fuel system (gasoline) (24), Engine and engine cooling (14), Back over prevention (13) and Power train (12). One car: NHTSA or Honda.

Honda campaigns by model since 2016
ModelCampaigns
Pilot42
Odyssey40
CR-V39
Accord34
Civic32
Ridgeline30
Fit22
Insight21
Passport17
Accord Hybrid15
CR-V Hybrid14
Civic Hybrid12
Latest Honda campaigns
FiledModelsComponent
October 20262023–2026 Accord Hybrid; 2025 CR-V Fuel Cell EV; 2023–2026 CR-V HybridTires › Temporary/emergency spare tire
October 20262023–2025 VT1300CX; 2024–2025 VT750Fuel system, gasoline › Delivery › Fuel pump
July 20262017–2026 CMX300; 2017–2025 CMX500Steering › Steering wheel/handle bar
July 20262018–2020 OdysseyBack over prevention › Sensing system › Camera
July 20262026 Passport; 2026 PilotStructure › Frame and members
June 20262019–2023 Passport; 2016–2022 Pilot; 2017–2023 RidgelineStructure › Frame and members
June 20262023–2026 Accord Hybrid; 2025–2026 CR-V Fuel Cell EV; 2023–2026 CR-V HybridTires › Temporary/emergency spare tire
May 20262016–2022 Accord; 2017–2022 Accord Hybrid; 2016–2022 Civic; 2017–2021 Civic HatchbackAir bags › Sensor › Occupant classification › Front passenger
May 20262024–2025 PrologueBack over prevention › Sensing system › Camera
April 20262018–2022 OdysseyAir bags › Air bag/restraint control module › Software
March 20262025 CB1000SPFuel system, gasoline › Delivery › Hoses, lines/piping, and fittings
March 20262023–2025 CMX300; 2023–2025 CMX500; 2023–2025 SCL500Steering › Steering wheel/handle bar

Open Honda investigations (7)

How "open" is counted.

Open Honda investigations
OpenedSubjectModels
October 2025Loss of Motive Power (PE25016)2020–2022 CR-V Hybrid
October 2025Inaccurate Rear Passenger Seat Belt Warning Status (PE25017)2023–2024 Pilot
August 2025Engine failure (PE25008)2018–2020 Odyssey; 2016–2020 Pilot; 2017–2019 Ridgeline
March 2025No Restart After Auto Start/Stop Engages (EA25004)2018–2025 Odyssey; 2019–2025 Passport; 2016–2025 Pilot; 2020–2025 Ridgeline
January 2025Inadvertent Automatic Emergency Braking (EA25002)2019–2022 Insight; 2019–2023 Passport
April 2024Inadvertent Automatic Emergency Braking (EA24002)2018–2022 Accord; 2018–2022 Accord Hybrid; 2017–2022 CR-V; 2020–2022 CR-V Hybrid
September 2021Desiccated Air Bag Inflator Rupture (EA21002)2001–2013 Accord; 2013–2014 Accord Plug-in Hybrid; 2001–2015 Civic; 2001–2015 Civic Gx

Honda owner complaints

Electrical system, Engine, Unknown or other and Steering lead for 2010-on model-years; the 2018 CR-V drew the most, 2,158 (unverified owner reports).

Honda model-years by complaints
Model-yearComplaintsCrashesFiresLeading component
2018 CR-V2,158462Engine
2018 Accord1,891354Engine
2017 CR-V1,774424Engine
2016 Pilot1,7122310Engine
2013 Accord1,425679Steering
2019 CR-V1,106312Forward collision avoidance › Automatic emergency braking
2016 Civic1,082364Steering
2018 Odyssey1,002143Electrical system
2019 Odyssey985167Electrical system
2014 Accord981529Electrical system
2017 Pilot93495Engine
2019 Pilot913136Electrical system

Check any Honda model-year for recalls

Any make: recalls by VIN.

Data: vPIC October 2026; NHTSA, October 17, 2026. Not affiliated with Honda.